Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

Trey Doell Wins Roger Neilson Award



Defenseman Trey Doell is off to a great start in his post Junior Hockey life, having recently both committed to Briercrest College for the upcoming year and learning that he has been awarded the 2018 Roger Neilson award. Doell will receive the $1,000 award to be used to further his education. He was nominated by Head Coach Evan Vossen.

Evan said he is “very proud of Trey on being chosen for the Roger Neilson award. He has been a great leader for us not only on the ice but also in the community with his various involvements. The Ice Wolves organization and the community will miss him next season but wish him all the best at Briercrest.”

The 5’10” Grande Prairie Alberta product played 104 games in the SJ for the Ice Wolves, notching 3 goals, 18 assists, and 153 penalty minutes. In his final year with the Wolves, the Assistant Captain won the Coach’s Award, and was co-recipient of both the Most Dedicated Player and Fan’s Choice Awards.

During his two years in La Ronge, Trey became well known for his community service. He loved to participate in community events, and interact with many of the community’s youth. He enjoyed his time in La Ronge, saying, “I think it’s important that players and the organization invest back in the community. I love doing that stuff, I think its tons of fun.”

Hockey Ministries International was founded in 1977. HMI serves hockey players through summer hockey camps, NHL all-star breakfasts and literature and videos. HMI serves 40 respective leagues, including the NHL, through offering a chapel program. Currently there are 275 biblically-based programs with over 2,500 players choosing to attend. All 12 SJHL teams have an HMI chaplain serving their respective teams.

The Roger Neilson Award, named in honour of the Hall of Fame coach and mentor, has been presented to an SJHL player since 2000-01. It is awarded to a player within the SJHL who displays fair play and dedication to the game of hockey both on and off the ice. Trevor Posch of the Humboldt Broncos received the award last season.

Trey Doell